Let’s End This Drive

I’ve enjoyed the races – first time I went to the track with friends who also hadn’t been to the races, a friend said, it looks like they’re on wheels – it’s beautiful. And I’ve been with friends who made killings – a $2 bet that paid $260 – that’s 13,000 % – and I didn’t get the bug.

But I listen to the Fund Drive!

I love to watch crew races, largely because it is so beautiful, so smoothly powerful the surge of the shells, and I rooted passionately when my son was rowing in high school and college, on championship teams – and I didn’t get the bug.

But I follow the Fund Drive – closely!

I hate the horse race coverage of political campaigns. Just tell me why I should vote for or against.

But I’m addicted to the WAMC Fund Drive. I want it to END.

WAMC is my light on the world. But not during the Fund Drive.

WAMC explains the newest developments to me. But not during the Fund Drive.

WAMC introduces me to great ideas and great new people. But not during the Fund Drive.

WAMC is not the clone of my research interests. It keeps me open to the things I haven’t thought of and wouldn’t find on my own – hunkered down as I am writing and teaching. But not during the Fund Drive.

WAMC is friends – Alan, Joe, Sarah, Ian, David, Jessica, Brian, Ray – I count them all as friends and welcome them in my living and dining rooms and I know how much they enjoy their jobs and how hard these drives are.

Let’s do it for our friends.

Let’s do it for ourselves.

Let’s end this Fund Drive!

– Aired on WAMC October 7, 2014

Leave a Reply

